Make Money Online: Beware of this Domain Scam
[ad#large_rect]
Yesterday, when I opened up my gmail account, I found an email that said: “Domain Notification:” This Is your final notice of … freeppcads.us!” Well, I do have a domain name freeppcads.biz and not “.us”. I was curious and decided to open up the email and read more. The email as I read up on other blogs earlier probably it was a scam, or bait you to something else.. why? First the subject it said “domain name extension notification”. It makes you think it is an important message and you’ve got to read this.
Second, it said the domain in my case “freeppcads.us”, it is fairly similar to one of my domain “freeppcads.biz”, this made the reader sometimes confused since they may forget what domain name extension they have really registered. Third, when I closely looked at the administrative contact, this person was actually extracted my information using a public whois database. I know that because I was using one of the registrar in China and their system translated my address in Chinese to romanizied mandarin alphabet by default and put the domain name, “freeppcads.biz” under my address. (see the picture below) Finally, it said in bold, “Please be advised that the above noted domain name has now become available for registration. Consequently the possibility of a conflicting domain registration may occur.” and put his phone number there and tell me to reply immediately or the domain will NOT be available!
To me this was well crafted and it got my attention. So next time, when you received this kind of message, don’t panic to reply. Quickly check if you really registered that domain extension or not then throw that message in your spam folder!
Next time, I will talk about the issue of domain name and SEO, whether it should be hyphenated or no to gain search engine positioning, so stay tuned!
Tags: domain name, domain scam, make money online, spam


